Thursday, March 31, 2016

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery - Review & Giveaway

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery
Little Beach Street Bakery #2
By: Jenny Colgan
Releasing March 22, 2016
William Morrow

The New York Times-bestselling author of Little Beach Street Bakery and Christmas at the Cupcake Café returns with a delightful new novel-with recipes!-that is already an international bestseller and is perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Meg Donohue, and Sophie Kinsella.

For fans of Jojo Moyes and Elin Hilderbrand, an irresistible novel—moving and funny, soulful and sweet—about happiness, heartache, and hope. And recipes.

A thriving bakery. A lighthouse to call home. A handsome beekeeper. A pet puffin. These are the things that Polly Waterford can call her own. This is the beautiful life she leads on a tiny island off the southern coast of England.

But clouds are gathering on the horizon. A stranger threatens to ruin Polly’s business. Her beloved boyfriend seems to be leading a secret life. And the arrival of a newcomer—a bereft widow desperately searching for a fresh start—forces Polly to reconsider the choices she’s made, even as she tries to help her new friend through grief.

Unpredictable and unforgettable, this delightful novel will make you laugh, cry, and long for a lighthouse of your own. Recipes included.

Review by Marlene Engel
The author begins with a little bit of backstory for those who may not have read the first book in the series, allowing this to be read as a stand-alone.

After a breakup and events leading up to a near financial ruin, mainlander Polly has relocated to the tiny Cornish town of Mount Polbearne off the coast of England.  Life is starting to settle down as she enjoys days working at the bakery and nights at the lighthouse with her boyfriend and pet puffin.  But when a new owner takes over the bakery, Polly finds herself in the middle of turmoil again.  Turning her life upside down and forcing her to reevaluate life and make some difficult decisions.

Let’s be honest, who doesn’t like a book based around a bakery?  The way the author describes some of the breads and other bakery items, I could practically taste them.

I truly enjoyed Polly.  She came across some difficult times, but through it all she tackled the hurdles head-on and became a better person because of it.  Some of the secondary characters also made for a more interesting read.

At times tense, other times sweet, this book has the perfect blend to make for a delicious springtime read!
Buy Links:

Author Info
Jenny Colgan is the New York Times-bestselling author of numerous novels, including Christmas at the Cupcake Café, Little Beach Street Bakery, and Meet Me at the Cupcake Café, all international bestsellers. Jenny is married with three children and lives in London and Scotland.

Author Links: 

Enter to win one of three print copies of

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment: